AWARDS SEASON 2016: Outer Critics Circle Awards


Awards season for 2016 has officially begun and the first set of nominees are in: those for the 2016 Outer Critics Circle Awards. You’ll see lots of repeats on this list, with American PsychoShe Loves MeBright Star and On Your Feet! getting the most nominations. You might notice there’s one big show from this season, Hamilton, missing from this list. That’s because the show took home many Outer Critic Circle Awards for its Off-Broadway run last year and it can only win once…

So, without further ado…the nominees are:

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
American Psycho
Bright Star
On Your Feet!
Tuck Everlasting

Outstanding New Broadway Play
The Father
The Humans
King Charles III
Thérèse Raquin

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Daddy Long Legs
Dear Evan Hansen
Southern Comfort

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
The Christians
Hold On to Me Darling
The Legend of Georgia McBride

Outstanding Book of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Bright Star
Daddy Long Legs
Dear Evan Hansen
On Your Feet!

Outstanding New Score (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
American Psycho
Bright Star
Daddy Long Legs
Dear Evan Hansen

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
The Crucible
Fool for Love
Long Day’s Journey Into Night
A View from the Bridge

Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
The Color Purple
Dames at Sea
Fiddler on the Roof
She Loves Me
Spring Awakening

Outstanding Director of a Play
Evan Cabnet, Gloria
Mike Donahue, The Legend of Georgia McBride
Rupert Goold, King Charles III
Joe Mantello, The Humans
Ivo van Hove, A View From the Bridge

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Michael Arden, Spring Awakening
Walter Bobbie, Bright Star
Scott Ellis, She Loves Me
Rupert Goold, American Psycho
Michael Greif, Dear Evan Hansen

Outstanding Choreographer
Joshua Bergasse, Cagney
Spencer Liff, Spring Awakening
Josh Rhodes, Bright Star
Randy Skinner, Dames at Sea
Sergio Trujillo, On Your Feet!

Outstanding Set Design (Play or Musical)
Beowulf Boritt, Thérèse Raquin
David Korins, Misery
Mimi Lien, John
David Rockwell, She Loves Me
Walt Spangler, Tuck Everlasting

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)
ESosa, On Your Feet!
Jane Greenwood, Bright Star
Katrina Lindsay, American Psycho
Jeff Mahshie, She Loves Me
Tom Scutt, King Charles III

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)
Donald Holder, She Loves Me
Natasha Katz, Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Kenneth Posner, On Your Feet!
Ben Stanton, Spring Awakening
Justin Townsend, American Psycho

Outstanding Projection Design (Play or Musical)
Lucy MacKinnon, Spring Awakening
Peter Nigrini, Grounded
Peter Nigrini, Dear Evan Hansen
Finn Ross, American Psycho
Tal Yarden, Lazarus

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Reed Birney, The Humans
Gabriel Byrne, Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Frank Langella, The Father
Mark Strong, A View From the Bridge
Ben Whishaw, The Crucible

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Jayne Houdyshell, The Humans
Jessica Lange, Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Lupita Nyong’o, Eclipsed
Nicola Walker, A View From the Bridge
Michelle Williams, Blackbird

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Alex Brightman, School of Rock
Danny Burstein, Fiddler on the Roof
Robert Creighton, Cagney
Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen
Benjamin Walker, American Psycho

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Laura Benanti, She Loves Me
Carmen Cusack, Bright Star
Cynthia Erivo, The Color Purple
Jessie Mueller, Waitress
Ana Villafañe, On Your Feet!

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Sanjit De Silva, Dry Powder
Matt McGrath, The Legend of Georgia McBride
Jim Norton, The Crucible
Robert Sella, Sylvia
Michael Shannon, Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Pascale Armand, Eclipsed
Zainab Jah, Eclipsed
Judith Light, Thérèse Raquin
Saycon Sengbloh, Eclipsed
Myra Lucretia Taylor, Familiar

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Nicholas Barasch, She Loves Me
Roger Bart, Disaster!
Michael Esper, Lazarus
Christopher Fitzgerald, Waitress
Terrence Mann, Tuck Everlasting

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple
Andrea Burns, On Your Feet!
Sophia Anne, Caruso Lazarus
Jane Krakowski, She Loves Me
Heléne Yorke, American Psycho

Outstanding Solo Performance
Mike Birbiglia, Thank God For Jokes
Kathleen Chalfant, Rose
Anne Hathaway, Grounded
James Lecesne, The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey
Daphne Rubin-Vega, Empanada Loca

John Gassner Award (Presented for an American play)
Lindsey Ferrentino, Ugly Lies the Bone
Lauren Gunderson, I and You
Martyna Majok, Ironbound
Marco Ramirez, The Royale
Anna Ziegler, Boy

Special Achievement Award
James Houghton, Signature Theatre Company

Oh and we forgot to tell you — the winners will be announced May 9th! Follow all of our coverage by subscribing the blog here or visiting our Awards page at Broadway Musical Home!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s