AWARDS SEASON 2022: Outer Critics Circle Award Winners

Broadway’s Six awarded The Marjorie Gunner Award for Outstanding New Broadway Musical at the 2022 Outer Critics Circle Awards!

The Outer Critics Circle announced their selections for the 2021-22 season, with Six taking home the award for Outstanding New Broadway Musical (plus two other awards), Kimberly Akimbo that for Off-Broadway (plus three others), and Company for revival (plus two others). A Strange Loop, MJ: The Musical and Paradise Square each also received a single award. Congrats to all of this year’s winners!

Here’s a full list of this year’s nominees and winners:

Outstanding New Broadway Play
The Lehman Trilogy
Birthday Candles
Skeleton Crew
The Minutes

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
MJ: The Musical
Mr. Saturday Night
Mrs. Doubtfire
Paradise Square

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
Prayer for the French Republic
Morning Sun
On Sugarland
Sanctuary City
The Chinese Lady

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Kimberly Akimbo
Black No More
Intimate Apparel
Little Girl Blue

John Gassner Award (presented to a new American play, preferably by a new playwright)
English by Sanaz Toossi
Cullud Wattah by Erika Dickerson-Despenza
Selling Kabul by Sylvia Khoury
Tambo and Bones by Dave Harris
Thoughts of a Colored Man by Keenan Scott II

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Take Me Out
for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
How I Learned to Drive
A Touch of the Poet
Trouble in Mind

Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Caroline, or Change
The Music Man
The Streets of New York

Outstanding Book of a Musical
David Lindsay-Abaire, Kimberly Akimbo
Billy Crystal, Lowell Ganz, and Babaloo Mandel, Mr. Saturday Night
Karey Kirkpatrick and John O’Farrell, Mrs. Doubtfire
Lynn Nottage, Intimate Apparel
Bruce Sussman, Harmony

Outstanding Score
Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss, Six
Jason Howland, Nathan Tysen, and Masi Asare, Paradise Square
Wayne Kirkpatrick and Karey Kirkpatrick, Mrs. Doubtfire
Barry Manilow and Bruce Sussman, Harmony
Jeanine Tesori and David Lindsay-Abaire, Kimberly Akimbo

Outstanding Actor in a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Simon Russell Beale, The Lehman Trilogy
Patrick J. Adams, Take Me Out
Adam Godley, The Lehman Trilogy
Adrian Lester, The Lehman Trilogy
Sam Rockwell, American Buffalo

Outstanding Actress in a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
LaChanze, Trouble in Mind
Betsy Aidem, Prayer for the French Republic
Stephanie Berry, On Sugarland
Edie Falco, Morning Sun
Debra Messing, Birthday Candles

Outstanding Actor in a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Jaquel Spivey, A Strange Loop
Justin Cooley, Kimberly Akimbo
Myles Frost, MJ: The Musical
Rob McClure, Mrs. Doubtfire
Chip Zien, Harmony

Outstanding Actress in a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo
Kearstin Piper Brown, Intimate Apparel
Sharon D Clarke, Caroline, or Change
Carmen Cusack, Flying Over Sunset
Joaquina Kalukango, Paradise Square

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Take Me Out
Chuck Cooper, Trouble in Mind
Brandon J. Dirden, Skeleton Crew
Michael Oberholtzer, Take Me Out
Austin Pendleton, The Minutes

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Uzo Aduba, Clyde’s
Chanté Adams, Skeleton Crew
Francis Benhamou, Prayer for the French Republic
Phylicia Rashad, Skeleton Crew
Nancy Robinette, Prayer for the French Republic

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Matt Doyle, Company
Quentin Earl Darrington, MJ: The Musical
Steven Pasquale, Assassins
A.J. Shively, Paradise Square
Will Swenson, Assassins

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Patti LuPone, Company
Shoshana Bean, Mr. Saturday Night
Jenn Colella, Suffs
Judy Kuhn, Assassins
Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo

Outstanding Solo Performance
Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord
Alex Edelman, Just For Us
Jenn Murray, A Girl Is a Half-Formed Thing
Arturo Luís Soria, Ni Mi Madre

Outstanding Director of a Play
Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy
Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Scott Ellis, Take Me Out
Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Skeleton Crew
Anna D. Shapiro, The Minutes

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Jessica Stone, Kimberly Akimbo
Warren Carlyle, Harmony
Moisés Kaufman, Paradise Square
Christopher Wheeldon, MJ: The Musical
Jerry Zaks, Mrs. Doubtfire

Outstanding Choreographer
Christopher Wheeldon and Rich + Tone Talauega, MJ: The Musical
Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Warren Carlyle, Harmony
Warren Carlyle, The Music Man
Bill T. Jones, Alex Sanchez, Garrett Coleman, and Jason Oremus, Paradise Square

Outstanding Scenic Design (Play or Musical)
Adam Rigg, The Skin of Our Teeth
Beowulf Boritt, Flying Over Sunset
Es Devlin, The Lehman Trilogy
Scott Pask, American Buffalo
David Zinn, The Minutes

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)
Gabriella Slade, Six
Jane Greenwood, Plaza Suite
Santo Loquasto, The Music Man
Emilio Sosa, Trouble in Mind
Catherine Zuber, Mrs. Doubtfire

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)
Jon Clark, The Lehman Trilogy
Natasha Katz, MJ: The Musical
Bradley King, Flying Over Sunset
Brian MacDevitt, The Minutes
Jen Schreiver, Lackawanna Blues

Outstanding Video/Projection Design (Play or Musical)
Luke Halls, The Lehman Trilogy
59 Productions and Benjamin Pearcy, Flying Over Sunset
Stefania Bulbarella and Alex Basco Koch, Space Dogs
Shawn Duan, Letters of Suresh
Jeff Sugg, Mr. Saturday Night

Outstanding Sound Design (Play or Musical)
Nick Powell and Dominic Bilkey, The Lehman Trilogy
André Pluess, The Minutes
Ben and Max Ringham, Blindness
Dan Moses Schreier, Harmony
Matt Stine, Assassins

Outstanding Orchestrations
Jason Howland, Paradise Square
John Clancy, Kimberly Akimbo
David Holcenberg and Jason Michael Webb, MJ: The Musical
Greg Jarrett, Assassins
Doug Walter, Harmony

Special Achievement Awards
Johanna Day, David Morse, Mary-Louise Parker, and Ruben Santiago-Hudson for reprising their outstanding performances in How I Learned to Drive and Lackawanna Blues two decades later. All had been eligible in previous seasons.

Outer Critics Circle Commendations
The Standbys, Understudies, and Swings of the theatrical community who step up to perform, often on hours’ notice, to keep their shows running.
The Covid Safety Supervisors, Managers, and Compliance Officers who put themselves in harm’s way eight times a week to keep the curtains up.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s