AWARDS SEASON 2017: The Drama League Award Nominees


Well, a musical might not have taken home the Pulitzer this year (big congrats to Lynn Nottage’s Sweat, which did!), but we are here now and so excited to announce the list of nominees for the 2017 Drama League Awards, which includes more than a few musicals.

We recommend bookmarking our awards page, which will always be the first place we announce anything, subscribing to the blog, and following us on Facebook and Twitter so you can join in the conversation.

The winners for the Drama League Awards will be announced on May 19 at 11:30 am, so be sure to do one of the above so you can find out who wins!

That’s enough of an intro for us, cause, drumroll please for the first crop of nominees for the 2017 year’s award season (yippee!):

2017 Drama League Awards

Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical
Amélie, A New Musical
Come From Away
Dear Evan Hansen
Groundhog Day
Natasha, Pierre And The Great Comet Of 1812
Ride The Cyclone
War Paint

Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Play
A Doll’s House, Part 2
If I Forget
A Life
The Play That Goes Wrong
Tell Hector I Miss Him
The Wolves

Outstanding Revival of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical
Hello, Dolly!
Miss Saigon
Sunset Boulevard
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street
Sweet Charity

NOTE: This season’s revival of Sunday in the Park with George was not considered for awards eligibility, at the producers’ request.

Outstanding Revival of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Play
A Doll’s House/The Father
The Beauty Queen Of Leenane
The Little Foxes
Master Harold And The Boy
Present Laughter
The Price
Six Degrees Of Separation
Troilus And Cressida

Distinguished Performance Award
Denée Benton, Natasha, Pierre And The Great Comet Of 1812
Reed Birney, Man From Nebraska
Cate Blanchett, The Present
Ato Blankson-Wood, The Total Bent
Christian Borle, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory; Falsettos
Leon Addison Brown, Master Harold and the Boys
Kate Burton, Present Laughter
Daniel Craig, Othello
Johanna Day, Sweat
Marcia DeBonis, Small Mouth Sounds
Danny DeVito, The Price
Jennifer Ehle, Oslo
Carson Elrod, The Liar
Michael Emerson, Wakey Wakey
Sally Field, The Glass Menagerie
Sutton Foster, Sweet Charity
Josh Groban, Natasha, Pierre And The Great Comet Of 1812
Gideon Glick, Significant Other
Harriet Harris, The Roads To Home
Corey Hawkins, Six Degrees of Separation
Allison Janney, Six Degrees of Separation
Rachel Bay Jones, Dear Evan Hansen
Sarah Jones, Sell/Buy/Date
Andy Karl, Groundhog Day
Kevin Kline, Present Laughter
John Leguizamo, Latin History for Morons
Kecia Lewis, Marie and Rosetta
Judith Light, All The Ways To Say I Love You
Laura Linney, The Little Foxes
Jefferson Mays, Oslo
Simon McBurney, The Encounter
Laurie Metcalf, A Doll’s House, Part 2
Joe Morton, Turn Me Loose
Cynthia Nixon, The Little Foxes
Eva Noblezada, Miss Saigon
Caroline O’Connor, Anastasia
Laura Osnes, Bandstand
Aisling O’Sullivan, The Beauty Queen of Leenane
David Hyde Pierce, A Life; Hello, Dolly!
Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen
Daniel Radcliffe, Privacy
Amy Ryan, Love, Love, Love
Nora Schell, Spamilton
Jeremy Secomb, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street
Anna Deveare Smith, Notes From The Field
John Douglas Thompson, Jitney; A Doll’s House/The Father
Kate Walsh, If I Forget
Michelle Wilson, Sweat

NOTE: Due to receiving The Drama League’s 2017 Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award, Bette Midler will not be considered for this year’s Distinguished Performance Award.

The Drama League also wishes to acknowledge the previous recipients of the Distinguished Performance Award who appeared in New York productions this season. As the Award can only be won once in a performer’s lifetime, they are ineligible this season. Their exemplary work, however, is recognized and applauded.

Glenn Close, Sunset Boulevard
Christine Ebersole, War Paint
Harvey Fierstein, Gently Down The Stream
Nathan Lane, The Front Page
Patti LuPone, War Paint
Mary-Louise Parker, Heisenberg
Live Schreiber, Les Liaisons Dangereuses

And these awards have already been announced:

Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre
Bette Midler

Unique Contribution to the Theatre
Bill Berloni

Founders Award for Excellence in Directing
Michael Greif

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s